Wild Da Hong Pao, Yunnan Sourcing

I woke up to another snowy day, after the most mild climate-change-winter Imaginable, so with the weather change I needed tea to help myself aclimate.  The choices as such were either fermented puer or oxidized oolong. I went with the later as to finish off a bag of Yunnan Sourcing’s Wild Da Hong Pao I ordered late last year. Compared to the Shui Xian I reviewed in my immediately previous post, the DHP smells much smoother and greener, with stronger grilled vegetable aromas and a somewhat lighter tea soup. The first sip floors me completely. The gaiwan is probably a bit overpacked because I wanted to finish the bag, but there is hardly any harshness to this tea. Instead, there is a big, round mouth filling sweetness that goes all the way down the throat and doesn’t quit. Notes of grilled zucchini, caramel, sea salt.

image

 

The second infusion yields a dark orange soup, lots of sweetness but otherwise nothing really changed from the first. This profile likely indicates a slightly lower level of oxidation than the Shui Xian, with sweeter and more vegetal tones. The leaves have a tinge of green as well, so this is more in the middle of the rock tea spectrum (remember these are a particular subset of oolong which come from an area of China known for its mineral rich soil). The third infusion happens to more reflect this minerally nature, with a drier, more textured and subdued soup. Here are the charcoal, earth and creek silt I had been waiting on. There is some bitterness also, but like I said, I probably overpacked the gaiwan…

image
Too many leaves!

I reheat the water for the fourth infusion, and the Da Hong Pao continues its progression towards textured earthiness, though it’s vegetal notes still linger. What I enjoy most about the tea though is its texture and full mouth feeling. This is, of course, why we practice gongfu tea brewing- to appreciate the subtle changes and nuances hidden n the tea, and to draw them out as a new dancer takes center stage in each subsequent infusion. The fifth infusion is smooth and mellow, with more friendly floral flavors than any of the previous ones. Looking back, we can appreciate the evolution of a tea over time. Just as with biological evolution, one stage is not better or worse than the last, or superior or inferior to the next; the tea doesn’t “build” to anything, it just changes, and we sit with the changes, taking note and appreciating that this change is the nature of things.

image
Good water is as important as good tea

But to return to the world of value judgements, I prefer the more roasted Shui Xian just on a personal level. I found it to be richer and more nuanced, though there’s certainly nothing to complain about here. This is just lighter on the Yan Cha scale, and I happen to prefer darker. See how relative truths of preference can coexist with absolute truths of change and thusness?

Thinking such thoughts while drinking awesome tea, my mind is filled with joy. May all who ponder with their tea be thusly inspired.

-Ginko-san

Bonus picture of sugar gliders eating yogurt:

image
They’re hard to get a good picture of…
5 thoughts on “Wild Da Hong Pao, Yunnan Sourcing

  1. Nice posts, I leave a comment on this one as a thank you for the bonus sugar glider photo. I’m used to DHP being quite dark, so the fact that this YS “wild” DHP has green notes despite the copper-toned liquor is added interest for me. Have you tried Scott’s other DHPs?

    Like

    1. Ginko-san

      I haven’t explored he yan cha selection too extensively…. There was the Shui Xian I reviewed the other day, and I’ve had the Tie Luo Han as well which was spectacular. I’m sure there are others I’m forgetting… YS is absolutely a good place to buy yan cha though.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m very new to the yan cha seen due to budgetary constraints. I’ve ventured into Dan Cong territory, which are also pricy, and haven’t been disappointed. Can you recommend any other yan cha vendors? I’ll probably add the wild DHP to my 2016 YS shopping list for my own tea edification. Too bad mao cha prices continue to spike. I’m hoping it’s a bubble.

    Like

    1. Ginko-san

      Unfortunately yan cha just tends expensive. Yunnan Sourcing is honestly one of the best bangs for your buck I’ve found. You might also try the West China Tea Company, it’s a small outfit located in Austin. The owner does all the sourcing personally and it’s all good quality stuff (I’ve been meaning to get around to reviewing a couple of his teas). Check it out at http://westchinateacompany.com/tea-shop/

      Like

Leave a Reply

